Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emilyj0012

escapees / ammonia

emilyj0012
13 years ago

I'm relatively new to vermicomposting. My bin is a rubbermaid with red wigglers, about 35 days old, Uncle Jim's. I feed vegetarian food scraps and use newspaper bedding. I've got some white mites, but they're manageable and don't inhibit the worms from coming up for food. The compost feels about the same as room temperature-- maybe 75? PH says 7.

I noticed a smell last week and realized that there was stagnant water in the bin (despite my screened drainage holes). After diligent draining, the bin is still a bit wet; there is no stagnant water at the bottom. It doesn't smell unless I open it, and upon digging/turning, I sometimes get an ammonia smell.

The worms have been escaping over the past week, and when I open the bin, they're crawling on the walls. There's some dead worms that have an overly moist elastic quality. I haven't seen any cocoons (or wouldn't recognize them?) and haven't seen any baby (?) wigglers.

Do I just need more aeration, or is something else going on?

Comments (9)

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    13 years ago

I would line the bottom of a new bin with a zillion TP tubes (toilet paper) standing up and put a few sheets of newspaper over them and then a couple inches of egg carton bits and pieces. Then a one inch layer of you bin another inch layer of carton, etc. In two weeks whatever was sick will of died and balance can begin again.

Do not pre wet the egg carton or TP tubes or newspaper as you may of the newspaper bedding. The idea is to dry out some of that mositure that is blocking oxygen into your bin.

Even if the whole thing goes south you may be surprised that in many months it starts to work out.

Every time you add food scraps also add DRY bedding.

You might want to venture into the world of corrigated cardboard not cereal box cardboard. Also good are egg carton andcoffee carrier cardboard.

• plumiebear
    13 years ago