Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
llieberm_gw

Tiny white bugs

llieberm
18 years ago

I'm fairly new to vermicomposting. My first bin didn't seem to attract any bugs that I could see, but after I added the second bin for the worms to crawl up to, I see tons of little white bugs. They look like very tiny white lines - I don't know how else to describe them and I don't know what they are. Does anyone know what they are and how to get rid of them? Thanks!

Comments (12)

• sqh1
    18 years ago

llieberm...Check out the web site below and click on their "invertebrate " page. Look at pot worms and see if that is what you have in there. These are the good guys and necessary in a healthy bin. Sometimes I see lots of them "bloom" when I have put in acidic type feedstock (oranges, tomato, etc).

Here is a link that might be useful: Happy D Ranch

• llieberm
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I've looked a little closer at the bugs and they don't seem to be worms because they have legs. After looking at the Happy D Ranch website, they look most similar to Springtail, but it's hard to tell since the Springtail are magnified in the picture, but obviously not in my bin! I haven't noticed if they can jump.

For control, the website says dry out the bin a bit or use Hypoaspis miles, but I don't know what that is.

Any further help would be appreciated!

• sqh1
    18 years ago

Springtails are very small. Try going back to that site and look at Soldier Fly larva. The ones they have pictured are probably more mature. They start out pretty small and are white. They grow and change color, getting dark gray before they pupate. They can tolerate anaerobic conditions and heat better than worms. They are voracious composters and are found in most all healthy systems (usually during the warmer months). Most all the creatures you are going to see in your bin are good guys and you should just let them do their thing.

• llieberm
    Original Author
    18 years ago