Return to the Vermicomposting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tiny white bugs

Posted by llieberm CA (My Page) on
Thu, Nov 3, 05 at 9:55

I'm fairly new to vermicomposting. My first bin didn't seem to attract any bugs that I could see, but after I added the second bin for the worms to crawl up to, I see tons of little white bugs. They look like very tiny white lines - I don't know how else to describe them and I don't know what they are. Does anyone know what they are and how to get rid of them? Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tiny white bugs

• Posted by SQH1 z7 NC (My Page) on
    Thu, Nov 3, 05 at 12:41

llieberm...Check out the web site below and click on their "invertebrate " page. Look at pot worms and see if that is what you have in there. These are the good guys and necessary in a healthy bin. Sometimes I see lots of them "bloom" when I have put in acidic type feedstock (oranges, tomato, etc).

Here is a link that might be useful: Happy D Ranch

o

I've looked a little closer at the bugs and they don't seem to be worms because they have legs. After looking at the Happy D Ranch website, they look most similar to Springtail, but it's hard to tell since the Springtail are magnified in the picture, but obviously not in my bin! I haven't noticed if they can jump.

For control, the website says dry out the bin a bit or use Hypoaspis miles, but I don't know what that is.

Any further help would be appreciated!

o

Fri, Nov 4, 05 at 13:39