Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adamk23

Humble request for harvesting guidance

ajk23
10 years ago

Hi there,

I have seen many postings about harvesting, and yet I am still a newbie lacking confidence as to whether this is the right time. Pictures are attached for reference.

I have a Rubbermaid bin that was started 4-months back with only 1/4 pound of worms. I figured that while many recommend harvesting around 3 months, the small initial number of worms would slow that down a bit. In any event, I built the bin with mostly cardboard bedding, and the worms have done a fine job of eating the food scraps and laying a good number of cocoons. While I've had outbreaks of pot worms and springtails, they have been kept mostly in check.

What confuses me is that while it is recommended to add bedding when adding food, then wouldn't there be quite a bit of un-decomposed bedding when I harvest? As it stands, there seems to be a nice amount of castings, but also a tremendous amount of cardboard still in tact. Is it right to add bedding to offset moisture when adding new food? Is it best to harvest and just separate out all the old bedding, with the plan of adding that to the new bin?

I want to make sure I avoid waiting too long to harvest, but also didn't know if I should wait longer for the bedding to break down. Thank you for any knowledge and advice you can share.

Comments (25)

• armoured
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

My suggestion would be to start a second bin with some of the stuff from the existing bin, move some worms over to get things started there, and when it's well established, move the bigger bits of uncomposted bedding and stuff over too - but you don't need to get perfection. Then leave the first bin alone for a while and most of the remaining will get broken down given enough time. Then harvest whenever you feel like it, and it should be much easier.