Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
worrelldpeace

Red Worms vs. Red Wrigglers

worrelldpeace
16 years ago

Newbie here... Purchased all the basics from www.gardensalive.com where I read that "Red worms will not survive in garden soil." I've read in other places that Red Wrigglers, however, will live in either compost or soil.

Can you tell me if either of these statements is true?

I'm looking for one worm to do dual duty... I don't want to worry that my compost worms can't make the move into my garden. Is there a compromise? Are Red and Red Wrigglers different?

Thanks!

Comments (12)

• vermiman
    16 years ago

I believe that red worms and red wrigglers are the same worms. European night crawlers or ENCs are said to be a composting worm and a garden worm. I am just using them as composters and fishing worms right now.

• wfike
    16 years ago

Reds wont survive in a garden unless it is full of organic matter so they will have something to eat. They don't eat dirt. They eat bacteria that eat organic matter in the soil. leaves, grass, compost, vegs. sawdust, hay, animal manure, etc. If the soil doesnt have loads of it they will leave or die. also moisture!

• tclynx
    16 years ago

So long as you keep your garden mulched with organic matter and things stay moist enough, compost worms will survive in your garden. Compost worms are quite happy living in mulch or between mulch and the ground. In fact, I used to find them all the time on my patio where the wood mulch tended to build up.

Red Wrigglers and Red Worms are both common names that tend to be used for several species of worms. Most of em as far as I know are composting worms.

• boness
    16 years ago

In my area wigglers are foetida and red worms are african night crawlers. Some of the area worm farmers believe the ANC are better composters becuse of superior size however they also say they are not as hardy as wigglers. I have ANC as well as ENC and find both to be good choices for my in ground pit.