Return to the Vermicomposting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Are this plants allowed?

Posted by rosfromcroatia (My Page) on
Sun, Nov 15, 09 at 16:07

Hello

I am a newbie in vermicomposting, but willing to learn.
I live in the submediterranean climate here, and have some plants in my garden which I don't know if the worms will accept. I thought of grinding the branches/leaves/whatever and precompost them for a few weeks before adding them to the worm bed.
I am not sure of their English names, so I will post the Latin ones:

Laurus nobilis (very aromatic)
Nerium oleander (I know it's poisonous for humans)
Prunus laurocerasus
Hedera helix (and other hedera species)
Seaweed - I guess I have to "wash" the salt out, after that it should be fine.

I might get to other "unsure" material, and I hope I can ask for opinions again.

Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Are this plants allowed?

Hello rosfromcroatia. I think worms will eat any kind of decaying plant material, including the types you listed. I even feed mine citrus and pineapple, which others do not recommend, and they are thriving.

However, yard wastes are generally better to compost in an outdoors, microbial-type compost heap, while kitchen wastes can be composted either in worm bins or outdoors. I don't have space for a traditional compost heap so I deal with yard trimmings similar to yours by shredding them with my lawnmower and then using them as mulch.

Hope this helps.

o

I have read somewhere, not sure if it was this forum or another one, NOT to feed the worms oleander, ANY part of it.
I don't have oleander, but I have Datura, also called Angel's Trumpet, Brugmansia, and any part of it is also poisonous. I do not put that in my worm bin, but the backyard composter. The volume of it is so much larger, but I still do not feed the worms with compost from there.

o

Useful information about the oleander. I'll keep that in mind.