Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aelo_gw

Raining in my bin

aelo
14 years ago

Hello, I'm new to the worm bin, i started our two weeks ago. I have used news paper for bedding since our office gets the paper delivered and it just gose into the recycling bin anyways, i figure "free bedding";) anyways i have a question that i hope someone can help out with. I have mad my own bin out of a old rubbermaid, drilled the holes to very simular size and shape as the one the eco shop sells for like $50.00 and im worried that it is too wet in the bin. everytime i take the lid off it looks like its raining inside. Ive added a little bit more dry bedding and it seemed to help a bit, but is dry bedding not good for our worms, it took a couple day befor it was moist. Should i keep adding dry bedding a little bit at a time or should i make more or bigger vent hole to let more air movement? or is this normal for a two week old bin? any suggestions will help a newbie. Thanks

Comments (6)

• sbryce_gw
    14 years ago

I can only guess, but from you describe, I think what you see is normal condensation on the lid and sides of the bin. If the bin was too moist, I would think you would have water draining out of the bottom.

My experience with newspaper for bedding is that it does not do well by itself. It will work, but if you can mix it with something else (shredded cardboard, dry leaves) you may have better results.

Newspaper bedding tends to dry out. That would lead me to believe that the newspaper is losing its moisture, and it is condensing on the lid of the bin.

• aelo
    Original Author
    14 years ago

sbryce

Thank you very much, that makes a lot of sense, thank you mother nature its fall and we have an abundance of leaves in our yard. I'll give it a shot. I'm also happy to hear that it could be a normal amount of condensation.
    Thank You

• rom.calgary.ab
    14 years ago