Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jln123

Newbie intro.

JLN123
10 years ago

I am a newbie to vermicomposting and this forum. I have spent the last couple of weeks cruising through older posts here and other forums. I don't have any worms yet, just trying to do research first. I am interested in vermicomposting horse manure. We raise draft horses so I have an ample supply. I currently pile compost the manure for use in our Hoophouses to raise tomatoes. It seems that adding worms to the mix is the nest logical step in making a better compost.
I think that I want red wigglers but if anybody has a better suggestion please let me know.
Thanks, J.L.

Comments (15)

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    10 years ago

Everything about your situation seems ideal. I am so glad you have read up on the topic. Thus your first post included the exact information we need to give you hints and tips we think might be useful for you. "I am interested in vermicomposting horse manure. We raise draft horses so I have an ample supply." You have one of the most ideal situations I have heard of. "I currently pile compost the manure for use in our Hoophouses to raise tomatoes. It seems that adding worms to the mix is the nest logical step in making a better compost." Have you dug into the piles? I thought horse manure was pretty much almost born with red wigglers in it.

Horse manure and compost worms go together like peas and carrots.

• JLN123
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Equinox
    Everything that I have read says "Build compost and the worms will come" The worms here haven't read that!
    Our soil here is very poor quality, red clay that had been farmed for wheat and heavily dosed with anhydrous. We have spent the last 13 years trying to rebuild the soil here. I do find some earth worms here now, at first there were NONE. I am thinking that better compost will speed the process? Besides it will give one more type of animal to tell all of my friends about.
    J.L.

• PRO