Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nacskins

nacskins
9 years ago

Newbie here just starting a garden, want to try as much as i can. Daughter is in 5th grade and just joined gardening club. Have a few beds built and about to fill, just purchased a Can-o-Worms bin and going to start that also. eager to learn and help as much as i can. any and all advice or help is welcomed!

Comments (20)

• barbararose21101
    9 years ago

READ Applehof: Worms Eat My Garbage

Do you have access to horse manure & the straw/sawdust/shavings that come with it. ? If so use that. Put some pureed food scraps in it. Let it Live for a week or so before you add worms. If not, put the food in whatever you will use for bedding: shredded paper , cardboard , coir. Give it a rest.

Add worms per Applehof, Bentley. & Us:

Quoted from Red Worm Composting:

1) The âÂÂx lb of worms per sq ftâ approach �" the idea here is that you stock a certain quantity of worms per square ft of your binâÂÂs upper surface area. An example of this can be found in Mary AppelhofâÂÂs âÂÂWorms Eat My Garbageâ �" she recommends one pound of worms for every 4 sq ft of bin space. So a bin thatâÂÂs 2ÃÂ2 would be stocked with 1 lb of worms.

End Quote

IF, as is said, a worm can eat half its weight per day, calculate the weight of the food to the weight of the worms. IMO it would be a good idea to start with half that then add more when it is gone. GET( aged, cooled, composted ) HORSE MANURE if you possibly can. Because it is both carbon and nitrogen, it is both bedding and food , and Significantly reduces all the risks of beginners.

Read about a hundred posts on this forum.
    Scan the titles. Look for what you need to know.
    There is a search box at the bottom of the titles page.
    Scuttlebutt is Google's algorithm functions better than the Garden Web search function. But give this one a try first.

• nacskins
    Original Author
    9 years ago