Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lullabyf360

Question about ivy

LullabyF360
11 years ago

My sister-in-law has a bunch of ivy. I don't know the species, but she bought it some number of years ago. You can imagine that it has now taken over parts of her garden. She plans to cut back the vines to groom things up. She asked me if I knew if ivy could be started from cuttings, & if they could, she would give me what she cuts off. I told her that I have no clue if ivy could be grown that way. I have never heard of it being propagated this way, but then again I am a newbie gardener. I can google things as much as I want, however I prefer the voice of someone who has experience with what I seek to know or would just plain know if it possible. Thanks.

Comments (11)

• japus
    11 years ago

When I grew our ivy I went across the street, cut some of my neighbors ivy (with her permission) stuck it in the ground and whammmoooo..look at it now, been about 15 years, I must keep it cut back, otherwise it would take over the neighborhood.
    This is January also, ivy's very dormant..
    Just cut and stick...

• LullabyF360
    Original Author
    11 years ago

You don't suppose this method can be used with just about any kind of ivy? As I said, I don't know what variation of ivy my sister-in-law has.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

Hi & welcome to Gardenweb!

I would strongly encourage you to do some reading about ivy. It's likely Hedera helix. Hopefully you could describe what you perceive as the virtues of this vine so suitable alternatives could be suggested.

Here is a link that might be useful: Hedera helix article at invasive.org

• LullabyF360
    Original Author
    11 years ago