Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
omgthatsfun

Morning Glories + Fencing.. 1st time gardener?

omgthatsfun
13 years ago

Please excuse me ahead of time if I have any botanical misconceptions or ask stupid questions. I'm really new to gardening.

I was wondering when the best time to plant Morning Glories would be. I planted some last year with my grandmother, but it was already July, and she did all the work. Can I possibly plant them earlier?

Also, would it be O.K. to plant them so that they climb over an ornamental aluminum fence. I want to have a 6 foot fence put in, and then cover them with morning glory, so I can get some more privacy. I decided against a chain link fence, because I felt aluminum would be more aesthetically pleasing. Or would this end up ugly/damage the fence?

I'm trying to plan my first "english cottage" garden ahead of time. This is my first time gardening and I'm only 16 so any advice is welcome!!

Thanks in advance!!

Comments (14)

• lord_baal
    13 years ago

What I have done in the past is get a few late spring early summer blooming clematis and let those provide the color and privacy while the morning glories work their way up to blooming size. As far as what types of morning glories go with fast growers like heavenly blue, flying saucer, or grandpa ott for quicker privacy and color. Avoid the fancier Japanese types from my experience they take forever and don't grow very tall

• frances_in_nj
    13 years ago

How exciting that you are getting started with gardening! I hope you have lots of fun with it. Morning glories are beautiful, but one warning: I'd avoid Grandpa Ott. He's lovely, but boy does he self sow! One Grandpa Ott vine, and his descendants will be with you forever. The problem with this is they'll show up where you don't want them, and can potentially smother more delicate plants. I'd stick to Heavenly Blue, which is sterile. I think Scarlett O Hara is too, but maybe others would know for sure. Good luck!

• musarojo