Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hmp2z

Using Star Jasmine for Groundcover?

hmp2z
16 years ago

Hi! I am in Zone 9b in Florida, and I am a complete gardening newbie. We have this area in our yard that no one uses - it doesn't get any foot traffic at all. What I'd like to do is cover it with star jasmine, to get a nice fragrance. 1. Is it possible to use star jasmine as a groundcover? 2. Is there a certain way I need to train the plant to grow along the ground, instead of up? 3. What is "pinching the vine"? I have read about doing this to make it grow faster, but I don't know what it is or how to do it.

Thank you for your help!

Heather W

Comments (4)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    16 years ago

Are you speaking of Trachelospermum jasminoides, commonly called Confederate Jasmine? I've not seen that successfully used as a ground cover, per se, but it's 'sister' plant, Trachelospermum asiaticum does wonderfully in that roll. But without the flowers.

• houstonnewbie
    16 years ago

I'm in Houston and also looking to plant Confederate Jasmine as a ground cover. Has anyone successfully planted it as a ground cover? If so - how many would you plant and how far apart in a 10x2ft area?
    I would also appreciate your help!

• saminsane
    16 years ago

I have star jasmine in the beds at work and am considering clippings for my own garden. That's how I happened to find this forum and thought I would share what little knowledge I've found on better homes and gardens (bhg.com) I love that site though it only really has the most common plants - not many hard to find ones. good luck.

Trachelospermum
    Star jasmine

Evergreen Groundcover , Perennial , Vine

USDA Zones: 8 - 9

Light: partial - full shade

Height: 6 feet

Width: 4 feet

Flower Colors: creamy white or yellow

Bloom Time: summer

Special Features:
    Flowers
    Fragrant