Return to the Vines Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Morning Glory - red cotyledons?

Posted by MandyRose9 none (My Page) on
Thu, Feb 28, 13 at 13:00

Hello everyone!

I've been growing morning glories for a few years now, and I just started up this year's seeds. One of my purpureas (not sure of the exact color flower) has a red stem and cotyledons! All of the other plants are green, or green tinged with purple.

I tried searching for this and didn't come up with any answers. Is this a common thing? Does it relate to a specific kind of morning glory? (I know that light colored seeds for morning glories tend to mean lighter colored flowers, but wasn't sure if red stems had a significance).

Thanks!

This post was edited by MandyRose9 on Thu, Feb 28, 13 at 13:02

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Morning Glory - red cotyledons?

The reddish may be related to how the stored forms of pre-active chlorophyll gradually become active and green in addition to the presence of reddish-purple pigments that are usually an indication of flower color and increased health.

The cotyledons are more than likely going to turn green as they are exposed to increased light.

The hypocotyl pigmentation will likely remain pigmented and (as you thought) may indicate that the plant may produce darker colored flowers.

Please do a followup on that particularly reddish seedling so that we can all enjoy learning what changes it may go through and what the matured plant produces.

best,

Ron

P.S. - What climate zone are you in (if you don't mind me asking)...(?)

This post was edited by ron_convolvulaceae on Sat, Mar 2, 13 at 21:29

o

Thank you for the response!
- Of the seedlings I have so far, all of the ones from "pale" seeds are bright green.
- The four heavenly blue (darker blue flower) seeds are green with some faint purple veining in the leaves.
- 2 of my purpureas are green, while I now have 2 purpureas like the one pictured above.