Return to the Vines Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie here! Need help in indoor vines.

Posted by Soniabea 6B (My Page) on
Wed, Feb 6, 13 at 16:05

Hello everyone,
This is my first post, I just joined today =)
I would like to plant in a pot a vine (clematis) inside my house so I can later take it out in the summer.
First I'd like to know if there's another vine you would recommened instead of the clematis but just as pretty?
Also, would it be ookay to plant in a pot inside and then transfer outside? is that how it would work?
Or once I plant inside I have to keep inside?
All suggestions/answers will be appreciated!
Thank you!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie here! Need help in indoor vines.

• Posted by gerris2 Zone 7a Delaware (My Page) on
    Thu, Feb 7, 13 at 8:56

Welcome to GardenWeb!

You could go to a big box store like Lowes and find one you like and that will survive your indoors environment. Read the tag for the plant's light, temperature and moisture requirements and find a match that seems to fit the space where you plan to grow it. Have fun!

Joseph

o

Clematis would be fully hardy outdoors in Zone 6, and would probably grow better there than in a pot. Clematis like their roots to be cool and their tops to be warm/in lots of sun, so they're not really suited to being indoors where the light is low---and if you carry them outside in a pot, their roots will get too warm in the summer.

o

Hi & welcome to Gardenweb! It will be hard to find a Clematis for sale until it's naturally time to put them in the ground outside, so that may make your decision for you.