Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sama81

Is there a climber for me?

sama81
14 years ago

Okay let me preface this by saying that I realize I'm asking a lot. I know very little about plants, but I know there a LOT of them, and I'm a little overwhelmed trying to find one that suits all of my needs, and thought maybe you guys could point me in the right direction.

I'm in a woodsy area of Rhode Island, lots of shade and not much in the way of soil. (I'm originally from Illinois so I'm used to seeing the rich black dirt..and that's not here. It's very sandy.)

We have a chain link fence in our backyard, 6 ft high. The backyard is mainly used as our dogs' play area. They're pretty good about not eating plants, but they're unsupervised back there sometimes, and I don't want to take stupid risks. I'm a photographer who mainly works with dogs and children, and oftentimes use this area for photoshoots as well, so visual appeal is desired. I'd LOVE some pretty blooms, but will settle for interesting foilage.

Frankly, the plants are going to have to withstand a bit of leg lifting action.

The chain link..is ugly. So I'm looking for something pretty that will cover it up. It does get some sun, but I wouldn't want to plant anything that needs several hours a day of direct sunlight. New England gets pretty harsh winters, heavy snow, below freezing temperatures.