Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boncrow66

Morning glories in pots

boncrow66
10 years ago

Do MG and moon flowers grow good in pots? My arbor is built on top of my deck and I don't think if I plant the MG and MF in the ground they will reach the top so I thought I would attach decorative pots to the arbor about half way up and let the vines grow from there and cover the top. And how many plants should I put per pot? This is the first time I have done this and need some expertise advice :). Thanks!

Comments (10)

• Vikki
    9 years ago

Great question because I'm planning to plant in pots on my deck too for the first time and was wondering how many to what size pot. Guess we'll learn together if anyone chimes in here :)

• brit5467
    9 years ago

I'm no expert, but have grown both from seed in ground beside corner porch posts. By late summer they had both reached the top and filled in so much you could not see the posts (I had 3 posts on each corner so I strung string between all three and laced vines thru).

Point being, I don't think u need to worry about them reaching the top. So if u choose to put in planters halfway up, I would still plant some down at ground level, and preferably IN the ground so u have less worry about them drying out. IOW, they will take less maintenance if planted in ground.

As for how many seeds and size pot....whatever seed pack says for how much ground. The bigger the pot and more seeds, the more vines which is what u want for coverage. I'm guessing 3 - 4 seeds per sq. inch??? If u don't have the pkg, go to any store and check one out there. Even Dollar General sells Morning Glories. I would err on the side of too many since you can alway thin out if need be.