Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aprilbird4

Strictocardia maculosoi - Hawaiian Bell MG

aprilbird
13 years ago

I am a newbie to indoor or outdoor plants, but have been 'learning'. Best to go with the assumption that I "know nothing"

I bought 2 of these last spring (on line). While they have lived and bloomed for me this winter, the are not looking well. I think they will do better once they can get back outside to the warm weather and bright sun, but I'm beginning to worry they won't make it that long. Plus they had been doing pretty good until recently.

I think I've planted them both in pots that are too big. One is in a 16 inch and the other in a 20 inch. I thought because they were vines and would grow 'up' a lot, they would need big pots. But I don't think I can do anything about that now. I have no clue how to transplant them.

They are in a huge west facing window. The best I have for light and warmth. It is cool there I have no doubt, but they handled colder more dreary days earlier in the winter better than they are now. Unless it has just taken a toll over time

What I am seeing is leaves staying small and dieing off sooner (in somce cases much sooner) than before. I get lots of places where it starts a new branch/vine and then it won't develope. I had one start quite a while back that grew and grew, but most everything else really did not develope.

I am 'water' challenged with house plants. I am just learing about the mistakes I have been making with others. But I'm not sure what to do with these. They are in such big pots that what I was recently told (water really, really deep and then leave go) didin't seem to go over well with these. The deep seemed to 'over water' these and then trying to let them go didn't do well either. I've gone back to watering more frequently and not as much, but still a 'decent' soaking. At first I thought that had helped, but now I'm not sure.