Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vineworld

Morning Glory ID

VineWorld
11 years ago

I thought I planted Coral Vine, but it obviously isn't. I vaguely remember possibly planting an MG seed here, but, that doesn't really matter. It's obviously an MG, but i'm not good with dwarf varities so I was wondering if anyone could pin point it and also whether it set seeds easily/needs a cross pollinator... As they seem to never set seed as they fall off.

Comments (10)

• VineWorld
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here is the bud.

• VineWorld
    Original Author
    11 years ago

The Leaf.

• VineWorld
    Original Author
    11 years ago

The stem and body.

• VineWorld
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Unfurling Flower.

• VineWorld
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Flower tube and side view.

• VineWorld
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Central stem.

• Gerris2 (Joseph Delaware Zone 7a)
    11 years ago

That is a beautiful Ipomoea nil. What a lovely pink flower, and awesome photo set documenting all the characters you need to identify it. It's a knockout beauty!

• VineWorld
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Yes Gerris, it sure is a really beautiful flower.

• ron_convolvulaceae
    11 years ago

Vineworld - You mentioned :

"It's obviously an MG, but i'm not good with dwarf varities so I was wondering if anyone could pin point it and also whether it set seeds easily/needs a cross pollinator... As they seem to never set seed as they fall off."

Thanks for your questions and photos as they are very helpful.

Joseph is right in that the species is Ipomoea nil.

I will attempt to go a bit further and add that what you have there is typically known as "Carol" or "Kawaii" which is available in a variety of colors.