Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rigreenthumb1

Help! Trumpet Creeper!

rigreenthumb1
16 years ago

Hi fellow gardeners! I'm a newbie. Have been reading the posts and find I can learn a lot from other people. 'Hope I can also be of help to someone. How do I permanantly get rid of this determined vine! I've cut it down and dug up what I could, but I'm afraid the runners will revive this summer. Any suggestions on how I can get rid of it for good?

Thanks.

PS I have a dog, so I can't use anything that will be too toxic.

Comments (5)

• karyn1
    16 years ago

I hate to say it but you might never rid your yard of this vine. I'd been trying to kill them for about 8 years and finally gave up. Now I just try to keep it confined to the far corner. It really is beautiful when in bloom. I've tried pulling it up, herbicides, including Vine-X, with no luck. I've even injected the herbicide directly into the stump. Maybe a few gallons of gasoline and a match? The trumpet vines and cockroaches will be all that's left after a nuclear blast.lol
    Karyn

• bluebars
    16 years ago

I don't know if this will help you with your TC, but maybe you could try this or a similar idea, and secure it somehow from the dog.
    I had a Virginia Creeper, which I love in the right environment, but it was about to overtake my holly trees.
    First I cut down all the vines I could and removed whatever roots I could. As soon as new leaves sprouted from near the ground, I used a paintbrush (NOT spray!) to apply the liquid Roundup directly onto the VC's leaves and stems, then covered it with a flowerpot held down with a brick, so that it could not touch anything else.
    Later that summer, a few more volunteers came up from nearby roots, and with the same treatment, the VC eventually surrendered.

• slr8
    15 years ago