Return to the Vines Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Solanum jasminoides (white potato vine)

Posted by jenn SoCal-9/19 (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 27, 08 at 13:03

I planted this vine yesterday against a south-facing wood fence with a lattice trellis for support. I planted it about 2-1/2 feet behind a new Salvia 'Indigo Spires'.

I know this vine is a fast grower and can get very large.

I'm wondering if it tends to grow outward and get very bushy, or if it grows more laterally along the support.

I don't want it to get bushy, and I don't want to have to trim it a lot to keep it from getting that way.

I'd appreciate any comments or advice on this.

Thanks,
Jen

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Solanum jasminoides (white potato vine)

• Posted by jenn SoCal 9/19 (My Page) on
    Tue, Jun 7, 11 at 21:16

LOL - no one knows? :-)

I planted it on a patio post and it climbed to the top.

o

I have a regular potato vine that I'm new to as well and it seems to be growing laterally up! I've had to train it to grow in any other direction.

o

I want to buy solanum jasminoides, I am in Ft Myers FL. Please help me.

o

Here is a website for the white potato vine

http://www.backyardgardener.com/plantname/pda_a9a4.html

o

I have a shite potato jasmine gowing along our wired chainlink fence and it does seem to grow bushy if it is not cut. Also mine also grows horizontally. Right next to it is our pink jasmine which Im having trouble growin horizontally. It wants to grow more vertically then anything. We have had it growing for at least 4 years. We like them for the privacy. Every once in a while we have to trim it with a hedger. But if we keep an eye on it and clip as needed it doesnt get out of hand and get too bushy. Our pink Jssmine is a very fragrant smell. Both were planted at the same time in a rocky soil. In our town. I have seen jasmine grow as high as a house.

o

Anyone have a pic? :)

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.