Return to the Vines Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Vine Identification - Poisonious?

Posted by newbie42 TN (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 15, 12 at 17:31

Hello to all of you wise gardeners,

I'm a newbie to the gardening world and I have a vine growing on my back fence that I'm not sure how to identify. We're trying to turn this into a toddler friendly yard and I want to make sure this isn't poisonous. Can someone please help me?

Thank you very much for your time!

-J

Here is a link that might be useful: Pics

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Vine Identification - Poisonious?

It's virginia creeper. Here's a fact sheet about it:

http://plants.usda.gov/plantguide/pdf/pg_paqu2.pdf

Here is a link that might be useful: All about virginia creeper

o

The vine on the fence is NOT Virginia Creeper....the plant still on the ground is, though. The vine growing on the fence has three leaflets, but doesn't appear to be poison ivy.

Newbie, post your picture in the 'Name That Plant' forum for a quick ID.

o

I think it looks like poison ivy on the fence. Kudzu would be another possibility although those leaves are usually more rounded.

Here is a link that might be useful: kudzu leaf

o

The vine with the 3 leaves growing on the fence is (and issuing from the same basal plant directly under the fence) :

Toxicodendron radicans commonly known as Poison Ivy

I have it growing on my property and the town I live in is covered in it..

The leaves do not always show the indentations and anybody who claims otherwise simply doesn't have enough experience with the varied forms that Poison Ivy can show , even on the same exact vine.

I went into this on the ID Forum on the other site which cannot be mentioned on here...

The 5 leaved vine on the ground is :

Parthenocissus quinquefolia - commonly known as Virginia creeper which can also show different leaf formations on the same exact vine.
I also went in this on the ID forum of the other site which cannot be mentioned on here.