Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newplanter211

Moon Vine Question

newplanter211
14 years ago

I am new at gardening, and this is my first attempt with moon vine. I live in North Texas, so I have hot, dry summers. I have a wrought iron gate that I want to cover with moon vine. The trouble I ran into is that the gate is actually over a concrete driveway (so there is no soil beneath it to plant the seeds), and I'd like to keep the functionality and allow the gate to swing open when necessary to get into my backyard. So, what I've done is attach a 36" long by 8" wide by 8" deep plastic flower box to the bottom of the gate. I planted 8 moon vine seeds in good quality potting soil in this planter, and, so far, I have 7 seedlings (the gate gets full sun). My plan is to help the seedlings twine up the gate when they are about 3" tall, and just keep them watered. My question is, will this planter, which currently has about 4" of soil in it, support the plants and their root systems when they mature? Is there anything else I should do?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much!

Comments (5)

• patrick212
    14 years ago

Newplanter,

Moonflower vines require a good deal of water in the heat of the summer. They have a relatively large leaf that will begin to wilt in mid-day sun/heat if they get dry. That on top of the wind can do some major damage to the leaf. If you can keep it watered (twice a day in the summer) the size of your container would work. BTW, you get an A+ for engineering.

You may want to consider a vive that has a lower water requirement. Take a look at Cypress Vine. However, this vine has a smaller red flower that blooms in the morning and may not be the look that you're going for.

Good luck, Pat

• newplanter211
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for the response!

I will definitely keep it watered twice a day in the summer...I really want this vine to grow and bloom for me!