Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
althea08

Newbie here -- vine to grow on large dead tree?

althea08
15 years ago

Hello to all :)

I am new to the forum. I apologize ahead of time if my question has been addressed in another post -- I did spend over an hour researching old posts and was not able to find the specific information I would like. Again, I do apologize for any redundancy! I am looking for any/all advice, experiences, photos, wisdom, tips, ect on the following questions:

1. I am working on a smaller bird/butterfly perrenial bed(first year, new plants of: ruby star coneflower, black eyed susan, white swan coneflower, blue star, brown eyed susan, and meadow sage) that is growing halfway around the base--other side is a sloped road bank--of a large (approx. 30-40 feet high and 4 feet diameter?) mostly dead decidous tree (was struck by lightening and is black and charred around the trunk, but does have leaves on the top branches). What vine would be a good choice to plant at the base to climb up and around thi large tree? I know that it should be a woody/strong vine--or I think so from my research on this forum and elsewhere on the web.

2. How do I plant the vine to get it to actually grow onto and up/around the tree? What type of support should I start training it on so that it does not just grow in a crazy, shrubby clump at the base and onto the ground to take over my flowers?

3. In general, how do I train a vine?

4. Not a question, but I just wanted to mention that I ONLY want to plant natives to the Eastern US (Chester County, Pennsylania) I would also much prefer a perrenial vine, as I want something permanent that I do not need to replant/train every year.