Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
agirlsgirl

Can anybody help me ID this MG?

agirlsgirl
15 years ago

Hi! I was wondering if anyone can tell from these pics which MG this is. I started 36 different types and marked them all. Well,when I pinched them back I stuck the pieces in water and in a pot of Angels Fishing Wand I started under lights. Of course while sticking them in ,I never thought first to mark which they were,second that they would actually root and keep right on going. So if anyone can help me out I would very much appreciate it! :)

~Angie

Comments (8)

• karyn1
    15 years ago

I'm no MG expert but that looks a lot like my Murasakihigezaki. I'm not positive if that's the correct spelling.
    Karyn

• brandyray
    15 years ago

Whatever it is, it's a beauty! Brandy

• ron_convolvulaceae
    15 years ago

agirlsgirl/Angie - Here are some links to the listings in the PlantFiles

Blue Split Personality - rich Blue usually split single petals
    http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/69647/

Blue Double Petal / Double Blue hige - double petaled with some splintering especially near the base of the petals
    http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/162982/

Feathered Purple - usually double purple petaled
    http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/72362/

The doubles may often start out as single and progress to double as the season progresses and plant continues to develop...the double gene can also skip a generation...

Me thinks there is some name duplication and overlap of features, (e.g., I would prefer to see the terms feathered and hige reserved for petals that display appreciable / variable splitting of the main petal structure(s) otherwise there would be no difference from a simple double or triple) but I cannot get the entries fixed without significantly 'ruffling some feathers'...

I would say that at this point based upon the structural features that are showing that it most closely resembles the Feathered Purple...

Hope that helps...

TTY,...

Ron