Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carolinabeach_gw

Should I pinch off spent MG flowers

carolinabeach
17 years ago

I'm new to morning glories and have a few vines started. The only one blooming (maybe Grandpa Ott's if that flower is small)has flowers that only last one day and don't re-open. Should I pinch them off or deadhead them to encourage more blooms? Or is my vine sick? Thanks for any advice!

Comments (5)

• kayjones
    17 years ago

If you want seeds to set on the vine, don't pinch. If you don't care about harvesting seeds, you can snip them off.

• carolinabeach
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks! It is still early in the season, so I'll get seeds later. Will snipping off the blloms encourage more flowers? I don't remember MGs from my childhood only lasting 1 day. Is this normal? I remember vine absolutely covered with flowers day after day, not 1 or 2 flowers per day which never re-open.

• gardeniarose
    17 years ago

carolina...it is normal for their flowers to last only 1 day. But they are replaced with new flowers every morning. I don't think it is necessary to deadhead them either, I never do and the vine comes out with new blooms every day. I have read that MG's bloom better with low soil nutrients...so don't fertilize them. How old are the vines? Mine didn't start to bloom until about a month after the seeds sprouted. The first day they had only 1 flower but now a month or so later, they are covered with them. Hope this helped!

• carolinabeach
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thank you gardeniarose! That was exactly the info I needed. Mine are probably 1.5 months-2 months from sprout, but only one has bloomed, the first bloom appeared this week. So I'll stop deadheading and learn patience. I don't fertilize, but did start them in potting soil from Miracle grow, so until that built-in fertilizer wears out, I guess I'll have more leaves than flowers.

• ron_convolvulaceae
    17 years ago