Return to the Vines Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Best Vines for Pergola

Posted by chitowngc Illinois (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 11, 10 at 18:45

I'm new to plants. We have a pretty big deck that was in need of repair. In the process, we decided to add a pergola. We love it and hope it last for a few years while we save money for an addition and new deck. We have a small pergola next to the deck.. pics below. We love the vines growing on them. They are some sort of grape. However, the asian beetles love them too!! :(

On our new pergola, we would love to have it covered in vines. What is the best cover for this(we live in NE IL) and what would grow/cover the fastest? Someone said train the existing to go over to the deck? Not sure I like that.

The pergola is apx 14' from the ground. It's got a long way to go. I would rather not wait 4/5 years for full cover.

Any help and suggestion will be appreciated!!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Best Vines for Pergola

I know the feeling of trying to decide on a vine. I started a pergola, but with all the decisions involved, I lost interest in it. I thought I wanted Wisteria, but it takes over too much and also did not want to deal with the bees. I also have lateral lines to deal with since I am in the country. I will watch this post to see what suggestions you get.

The pergola is great. Lots of detail cutting done with regard to design and the support posts. I like things different. If you decide to continue the pergola to the house, I would think about running the upper boards (joists on a pergola?) north and south so to take advantage of shading from the late afternoon and evening sun, until your vines take over. I like your place.

o

The only fast growing vines I know of are the annuals. Morning glories, moonflower vine, nasturtiums, black eyed susan vine, etc..