Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ajfan

Goldflame Honeysuckle

ajfan
17 years ago

Just found what I think is the perfect vine to grow on our newly installed arbour. It's a Goldflame Honeysuckle which I have no experience with. I'm impressed with the flowers but now have learned that it will have berries in the fall...so that's great. I'm wondering now if I need a male and female...to produce berries? So far I haven't been able to find this information, anybody here know about this? Thanks in advance.

Comments (6)

• jenny_in_se_pa
    17 years ago

Lonicera x heckrotti isn't diocious (sexed). But you would need to have pollination take place in order to get berries (hummingbirds like this one). I've grown it in the past and never got berries but that doesn't mean that it won't produce them.

The main problem I had with it was that it can be prone to powdery mildew and hopefully you won't have that problem where you are.

• queencrimson
    16 years ago

I love mine, this is the third spring and it's finally growing well. The first year was plagued with a mildew on the leaves, and now suddenly it's leave are yellowed and spotted. I assumed at first it was the fungus again, but upon closer inspection saw there are 1/8 inch wide "trails" through the leaves, as if some kind of insect has tunneled through them. But when I looked on the backside of the leaves there's no evidence of the trails.
    Anyone have a clue what kind of bug would do this and what to do to control them?

• whatahoot61_yahoo_com
    12 years ago

My goldflame honeysuckle has bloomed beautifully for three years. But this year I am getting black on the ends of the new shoots with no new flowers. Some of the flowers have begun to bloom and then withered and turned black. When I touch the black ends, they come right off the vine like powder. Any ideas?

• njmomma
    12 years ago