Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
v1rt

Morning Glory and Moon flower dilemma

v1rt
10 years ago

I've had this vine since last week of May. I planted it from seed. It's now almost 10 ft tall. I haven't seen any flowers yet. Is it because of the potting soil I used? I think I used miracle gro.

Comments (12)

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    10 years ago

MG's are just starting to bloom down here.

• v1rt
    Original Author
    10 years ago

oh cool. It's my first time growing them. So most likely in a week or two, I'll see them blooming?

• v1rt
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I have another question. I planted morning glory and moonflower on the same pot. One vine has tons of small thorn like spikes. Is it morning glory?

10 years ago

When they get ready, they'll bloom, impossible to say exactly when unfortunately.

Can you take and add a pic of the other vine? I don't know of any Ipomoeas that have thorns. Most likely suspect would be some kind of berry vine.

• v1rt
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I'm sure it's either Morning glory or moonflower because I bought them and planted them all mixed. I really wanted to see how they will look like when mix. I also read that morning glory's flower appear in the morning while moonflower in the evening.

Here are the pics. I'll also take advantage of this post so I can share how my pergola looks like now. :)

{{gwi:18716}}

{{gwi:18717}}

{{gwi:18718}}

{{gwi:18719}}

{{gwi:18720}}

The leaves of the vine that has thorns.
    {{gwi:18721}}

The other vine that doesn't have thorns.
    {{gwi:18722}}

{{gwi:18723}}

{{gwi:18724}}

{{gwi:18726}}

{{gwi:18727}}

{{gwi:18728}}

{{gwi:18729}}

• ron_convolvulaceae
    10 years ago

v1rtu0s1ty - There are quite a few different Morning Glories that have soft tubercles (usually) on the lower stems but also extending up onto the upper sections of the plant.

The leaves you posted could belong to any of the 3 species I will mention below.