Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashleyg_gw

Morning Glory leaves

AshleyG
10 years ago

I had 2 packets of morning glory seeds. When I opened them, one packet had seeds that were drastically bigger than the other packet. I'm talking about 4 times the size difference. They were both the same, crimson rambler I believe. I was just wondering if these leaves look normally sized? This is my first year planting so I'm not sure what is normal and what's not. I planted them in mid June, not sure if they will have time to bloom and I planted them in pots using MIracle Grow Potting Mix, is that possibly another reason they are so big?

Comments (7)

• Gerris2 (Joseph Delaware Zone 7a)
    10 years ago

They look very healthy. The flower show will start soon. I can't help with your questions, I'm very sorry.

This post was edited by gerris2 on Wed, Jul 17, 13 at 16:56

• ron_convolvulaceae
    10 years ago

There may be a few Ipomoea purpurea in there , but most of those leaves look to be Ipomoea nil which tend to flower later than Ipomoea purpurea...

They look to be in relatively small or thin containers...wonder how much water they can hold onto (that cement can get hot and baking) and if the upper part of the 'trellis' is getting adequate sunlight...

The acquisition of any misidentified seeds contributes to myths about MG's because the person growing them doesn't really know what they have and are therefore somewhat working in the dark...

There will always be people who have grown improperly identified species = unknown species and then make all sorts of claims about being so experienced with the 'horrors' of MG's although most couldn't accurately ID even 1 species if their life depended on it and urban myths are created and perpetuated
    e.g., (MG lesson of the day) there are Calystegia and Convolvulus species which do NOT spread by underground rhizomes...(!)...