Return to the Vines Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
advise on clearing vines

Posted by MCLyons none (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 4, 12 at 23:54

Hi Everyone, first time poster but I've been haunting the boards for a few months. My parents house has a portion of the yard (maybe 1/10 an acre, maybe slightly smaller) that has become overrun with vines. I'm in south Louisiana so they get to grow most of the year. I'm not sure what they are, but I'll try and upload some photos tomorrow when I have time. I know there's some Virginia Creeper, something with leaves that look like a Wild Potato Vine, but I've never seen flowers on it before, and a few others. I'm trying to figure out the best way to get rid of them as it seems like a constant battle just to keep them slightly at bay. Roundup seemed to do nothing, might as well been spraying water on them. I've recently taken to using an electric hedge trimmer and that does a lot of damage but does nothing to actually kill the vine which inevitably comes back. I'm in the city so I can't treat it like the Romans treated Carthage haha. Would Triclopyr work on these via spraying or does it need to be a Glyphosate based herbicide? I really want to buy a flamethrower, I'm getting that frustrated. Any advice y'all can provide me with would be greatly appreciated. Cheers!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: advise on clearing vines

It sounds like gardener's hell, and it's not going to be an easy job. What you have to do is kill the root, not just the growth. That means you have to track back each vine (cutting as you go,obviously) and cut it off at the soil. Then you have a choice - dig up the root if it's small, or hit the stump with undiluted Round-Up concentrate.