Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shady_10b

Joining the Morning Glory club

shady_10b
9 years ago

Greetings GardenWeb community!

My name's Nik (short for Nikolas), and I recently joined these forums. I'm pretty new to gardening, or maybe I should say I'm pretty new to trying to garden competently, since I've dabbled in the past.

I have a special fondness for morning glories. Growing up, there was a long chain-link fence in my backyard covered in them, growing as true perennials in Southern California. They were the first things I wanted to grow when I decided to start container gardening on my apartment patio.

Of course, I was attracted to Japanese morning glories, and I'm not having much success with them. I started them in early June, after I was confident we wouldn't get the Santa Anas again for a while. The seedlings started off very strong, but not long after developing their first true leaves the vines started to languish. The leaves seem to develop brown spots which spread and eventually perforate; I'll post a picture of when the problem first started in a subsequent reply.

At first, I potted them in potting soil (I can't recall which brand exactly, but I think it was Miracle-Gro) with extra peat and perlite added (in about a 2:1:1 ratio). A drainage problem developed in at least one of the pots, although several of them had started showing the same brown patches. When I tipped the pot that had the worst problem over, I could see water pool on the side, so I know it was a severe drainage problem there, although I never did narrow it down to whether the holes in the pot were too small or what.