Return to the Vines Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I'm in Love with my Chocolate MG

Posted by smokymist 6B EastTN (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 5, 07 at 18:47

I think I've wondered all over Gardenweb over the past 4 or 5 years and never posted here. Well where have I been ? lol. I am so loving vines right now, and wanted to share some pictures. Also ask a question....my Chocolate Silk morning glory is not producing seeds. This is my first year for growing this particular MG, and I can't seem to stop taking pictures of it !! As far as the seeds go...I know what to look for, have collected MG seeds for years, but this one is not producing, any ideas ?

Chocolate Silk Morning Glory

All this from 4 seeds. Chocolate Silk

Double Blue Clitorea Pea Vine

Japanese Picotee Morning Glory

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I'm in Love with my Chocolate MG

• Posted by deeg z9 - St. Pete, FL (My Page) on
    Sun, Aug 5, 07 at 20:07

Oh My, what a beautiful flower that Chocolate Silk MG is!!
And the others are quite beautiful too! Congratulations,
Dee

o

smokymist - It is often the case that the larger flowered MG's need a helping hand for adequate pollination...the anthers and stigmas of the hightly bred MG's often fail to develop completely and/or show signs of premature senescence...

Learning to do some simple hand pollination is a very good idea...

Look for anthers with pollen that is very fluffy looking...
use a tweezers to carefully remove part of the stamen so you can use it like a paintbrush to place pollen onto a healthy looking stigma...
the healthy stigmas should look to be 'enlarged' and a nice light healthy color...
any stigmas that look browned/discolored/ and very small are most likely not functional...

Hope that helps...

TTY,...

Ron

o

smoky
The chocolate silk mg's are absolutely beautiful!!!
Hope you eventually get some seeds!!
Where did you get the original 4 seeds?

o

That chocolate silk is a knockout! Im getting some!

o