Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emma_taylor1224

Gold Flame Honeysuckle

Planted it this last spring. Do I cut it down or just leave it alone? TIA

Comments (20)

• jenny_in_se_pa
    17 years ago

I would leave it until next spring when it starts to sprout since it blooms on new growth.

• gracie01 zone5 SW of Chicago
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks so much; I wasn't sure.

• jenny_in_se_pa
    17 years ago

Hope yours didn't get as much powdery mildew as mine did. I tried that one twice and both times it was just awful. I have a coral honeysuckle this year and the PM wasn't so bad on that one in the same spot. My mandarin honeysuckle never got PM.

Good luck!! It's a beautiful flower!

• debraq
    17 years ago

I have been growing Goldflame honeysuckle for about 7 years. I have never cut it down, I only prune the ends of the vine in the spring. Its completly covering my arched trellis and is doing great. I get powdery mildew each and every year, its rampant here as we are so very hot and humid. Its really doesn't hurt the vine, it just causes it to look pretty yucky and it loses its leaves. But this happens after it has finished blooming and by this time I always have a second or third annual vine going, like MG's, Hyacinth vine, spanish flag, moonflowers etc. This covers the bare honeysuckle.
    And it comes back healthy and happy the next spring. I just adore this particular honeysuckle.
    Deb

• aka_peggy
    17 years ago

Good to hear that mandarin doesn't get PM. I purchased a large size one mid summer at 50% off. I planted it on a trellis by the swing on my front porch. That area gets unbearably hot from the western sun in the afternoon. It's flowering now.

• queencrimson
    16 years ago