Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michelej_gw

How & when do you prune a trumpet vine and wysteria?

MicheleJ
18 years ago

I've planted two trumpet vines in my garden this year, which grow onto a privacy trellis. One is an "Indian Summer", the other an orange one. I had a couple of blooms on the Indian Summer, nothing on the orange since it was brand new. I'm not sure if I should be pruning these now, in the spring, or at all, and what do I prune? Some of the main stems are woody, so I am thinking I should leave them, but since I am new to vines, I just don't know what to do with them. I also have a wysteria, very woody, cut it right back last year when we moved here, no blooms but it is going to be 7 this year from my understanding. Any suggestions?

Comments (6)

• PhillyBadger
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Thanks for posting such a detailed how-to. My well-established vine has been on the infamous three-year plan (it was pulling the porch off when we bought the house); i think finally time to start encouraging flowers instead of merely discouraging structural damage to the house. This -- how to distinguish between a flower spur and a leaf spur -- is exactly what i needed.

• Nigella
    18 years ago

In my climate I shovel prune them both 12 months a year, mulch them with cinder blocks and feed them Round-Up weekly. I'm still losing the battle.

• helena_z8_ms
    18 years ago

Bump!!

• davg
    15 years ago

(I may have posted this twice already, so difficult to get one through though. Here we go again).