Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nkrz

Trumpet vine (hummingbird vine)

nkrz
17 years ago

I needed to find out if this vine needs to be pruned or just left alone?

Comments (21)

• momamamo
    17 years ago

There's no harm in trimming it but there's no need either. This is a rampant grower. Maureen

• docmom_gw
    17 years ago

I'm no expert, but I have a trumpet vine that's been blooming for about 3 years. It blooms on new growth, and it grows so fast that all my blooms end up on the ground if I don't trim it. I decided that from now on I'm going to prune it back severely every spring to encourage blooms throughout the entire plant.
    Martha

• katjt
    17 years ago

You can do whatever you want to with this plant and it will make not difference.
    Mine came with the house and is about 10 inches in diameter at the base.
    I find the vine popping up ALL over the place. 20-30 feet away from the tree... and I think they can grow a foot a day! The seeds will blow over the universe. It attracts ants galore and doesn't pull the hummingbirds the way other plants do. It puts out 'fingers' to dig into wood or brick and pops out of every little crack in the concrete patio. Roundup and brush killers don't hurt it.

They definitely are vigorous little boogers!

Here is a link that might be useful: The Scoop on Trumpet Vines

• karyn1
    17 years ago

The only thing this vine needs is gasoline and a match and even that probably wouldn't have any effect. I knew that it was invasive so it was planted at the far end of our yard. No matter, the darn thing comes up everywhere. We have a pool, yard area and 3700 sq ft of deck between where it was planted and the house and I find it coming up from runners near the back door. I'm sorry that I ever planted it. I've been trying to kill it for about 8 years with absolutely no success.

• ARUM
    17 years ago

There'a nothing funniner than when folks discuss the "Trumpet Vine"! What a thug! :) Arum

• qoeduncan
    16 years ago