Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jim_mck

The new Terms

jim_mck
18 years ago

I share Stefan's concerns about the new Terms. I'm starting a new thread in the hope that others will comment. In particular, the terms regarding trades/exchanges of seed are problematic.

More bothersome to me is the apparent surrender of copyright. As I read the terms (and I'm not a lawyer) users of the forum will in effect surrender their copyright to GardenWeb; GardenWeb will claim the right to use their material with or without attribution (not to mention compensation).

Have I misunderstood the terms? Here's the passage I have in mind:

l. Forums, Exchanges and Other Interactive Features: Because iVillage reserves the right to use content created or provided by you in connection with our Forums, Exchanges, and other interactive features, to the extent that you include personally identifiable information in such content, iVillage may republish such personally identifiable information, as part of the content, in connection with the GardenWeb Network and promotion thereof. If we republish your content, we may (but are not obligated to) provide authorship credit by listing your member name as well.

There are other things, too, but these are the ones which really caught my attention.

Jim McKenney

Comments (6)

• etii
    18 years ago

Well...
    Copyrigts on the web, 21th century joke ! And what about copyrights on things said in a forum ?? Really don't understand. I don't mind about the photos I post (when it's possible to): mines are not good enought to be interesting anyway and just don't care, definitively.
    And if all those terms were just a way to protect them ?
    Let's wait N see what is going to change. But it would really be a pity to see so interesting person like Stefan going away (we need you Stefan !!). I love that forum: nice people, not too many informations (lol) a little sweet place and a good way to practice my poor English ;-)

Take care :-)
    Thierry.