Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashley_clark_gw

companions for violets?

Ashley_Clark
21 years ago

Absolute violet newbie here - I thought the tiny things I've seen in my field were the only violets there were! What a fun time I've had on this forum. Anyway, I've gotten several large clumps of wild violets from friends and family this year - my first experience with violets. They're beautiful! I have a wild patch of lawn, really a transition to a woodland, with buttercups, cedar trees, ivy and moss patches. The cedar trees have lovely deep wide gaps between their roots - would this be a good place for the violets? The area stays moist, cool and is very "hummusy". I wonder what other plants I could put in around the base of the trees to complement the violets, and to take over when the violet bloom time is over. I prefer green, purple/blue and white colors. Thanks!

Comments (5)

• Liz_Gardiner
    21 years ago

Hi,
    Sounds like you have a lovely spot. If you are after some companions to the Violets you could try Helleborus. Do you know them? The will flower in winter along with some of your violets. The colours are soft and subtle and they will stand tallet than the violets so contrast well. You might also try corydalis or heuchera. The deeper tones of the heuchera foliage would be lovely. Good luck!
    Liz Gardiner

• Mike Hardman
    21 years ago

Sounds like a good spot, so long as it is not too shaded nor too acid (from the soil or cedar needles), though some species of Viola do not mind the acidity.

Further to Liz's suggestions:
    Dog tooth violet, trillium, herb paris, anemone, aconite, (I'd like to say celandine but that can be too invasive), snowdrop, fritillary (if not too shady), jeffersonia.

Good luck from me too.

• Liz_Gardiner
    21 years ago

Mike,
    I think you should say celandine. If too invasive it can be pulled out and it does improve the soil!
    LIz

• nathalie
    21 years ago