Return to the Violet Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Who are we?

Posted by jenny_in_SE_PA 6b/7a Sunset 32 (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 22, 03 at 18:40

Just some of the violets I grew up with out in the yard... no scent... But with this wonderful resource in this forum, I just wanted to confirm the species for my own info. Very prolific little guys but always a welcome sight for me in spring! I scooped these up and temporarily stuck them in those little pots. Will be transplanting into a bowl container. The white ones apparently got mowed many times last spring and so they are now all over the middle of mom's yard...LOL The purples were up first about a week or two ago and the whites finally made an appearance in the past couple days.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Who are we?

Jenny,
Here goes for a second time. The first response got lost when I tried to go back from the preview page.(frustrating) Anyway, I'm no expert, but they look like they would be Viola sororia. The bottom one would be what I call a Confederate Violet. Both the purple and Confederate forms are growing in my parent's back yard also. I've potted up quite a few and am in the process of trying crosses with other violet species. Oh and speaking of no scent, I had thought so too ... but on a warm day try gathering a bundle of each type (purple and Confederate) and then smell. I bet you'll find the Confederates have a mild, sweet scent - kind of like honeysuckle. Even if not, they're still great to have around.
Have a good season, Tom

o

Yup - I'd go along with Tom - V. sororia and V. sororia f. priceana. There are also pink cultivars of both of these.

Thanks for the piccies - brightens up the forum.

(OK - yes Natahlie - thanks for yours the other day, too - you know I would not forget you :) )

o