Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
helenaviolet

'Governor Herrick' group of violets

helenaviolet
11 years ago

I have been growing these for many years. Please, does anyone have detailed historic information about their origins and development in America around 1910? I believe 'Governor Herrick' is actually a hybrid; V.odorata crossed with V.sororia or V.cucullata. Well, that covers a big selection of actual cultivars. The end result is a lovely and interesting violet to grow. I think 'Governor Herrick' is worth cultivating and preserving as part of our violet heritage.

Comments (10)

• mlb86
    11 years ago

I used to grow Governor Herrick and I was very fond of the large, dark hued flowers it produced even though they were unscented. I need to grow it again. Another reason I like this variety is that my favorite garden writer, the late Elizabeth Lawrence, mentioned in her book on winter gardens that it bloomed for her in winter. I know it is a hybrid of Viola odorata crossed probably with one of the species you mentioned. It's namesake was elected governor of Ohio in 1904. It has the advantage of being very resistant to red spider mites and its flowers also last longer in a vase than most other violets. Other related violets include Bournemouth Gem, Mrs. Pinchurst, Pamela Zambra, Frey's Fragrant, Explorateur Dybowski, Susan Chilcott, Royal Robe, and Royal Elk. They are certainly well worth growing if you can find them. Groves Nurseries in England offers many of them for sale but unfortunately they don't ship to the United States.

• helenaviolet
    Original Author
    11 years ago