Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dluid

Violets go to seed, no flowers

Debi
16 years ago

Help, please. I have several container violets. Seemingly happy. They produce tons of buds that never flower... go directly to seed pods. Any ideas?

Comments (5)

• etii
    16 years ago

Hi !

Concerning the problem you're talking about, no photo is needed :-)
    Either your violets are in a too dark place (sun is appreciated, especially during winter and spring), or the place you live in is too hot (cold make violets flower - no cold during winter, no blooms).
    Anyway, quite too late now, not the right time for flowers, it's definitively pod's time.

Hope it helps :-)
    All the best - Thierry :-)

• Debi
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks. You're way cool! Enjoyed your web page (I checked it out) and enchanted that you are French! Seems our violets have zone 8 in common... just on other sides of the world! Thanks for your help with my little violets. Oh, yes, I'm new to the linking of photos. Not an idiot just new and figuring it out. Ha

• etii
    16 years ago

Was a pleasure :-)
    So I guess the problem is just a question of a sunless place :-) The more your violets are getting sun during winter and spring and the more you'll have flowers: try it and tell us :-) Maybe it's not too late, sometimes (mainly odoratas) violets make bloom for autumn...
    About putting a photo: believe me, I do understand what is it to try to figure it out: rage against the machine ;oP

All the best - Thierry :-)

• lilgreenfrog
    16 years ago

Don't know if I should post here or open another thread...