Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
etii

red pod from my hybrid !

etii
16 years ago

Hello here !

I've just got a pod from my hybrid odorata alba X sororia albiflora: gorgeous :-))) Would you have guessed that a violet could make a strawberry ? ;op

Have a look:

That pod is definitively a surprise, I was not expecting F3...I'm a newbie with hybrids so I just don't know when it will end. Should I wait until F100 ? ;o) God, I'm a little bit frightened :-/

And by the way, I've just finished a personnal site about violets, sorry if you don't speak French :oP

All the best - Thierry :-)

Here is a link that might be useful: http://violets.free.fr/

Comments (3)

• membertom
    16 years ago

Thierry,
    That's great! [both the violet and the website]
    And I'm enjoying your website even though I don't understand French. I'm just going back and forth, using Babelfish website to translate blocks of your text (from French to English) -- not perfect translation, but good enough to get an idea what your saying.
    So about your hybrid... I'm guessing the pod is from cleistogamous flower??? I'm curious since I've never grown any hybrids of this type, but surely want to... are there many obvious traits already that show from the father (sororia). Or will you have to wait until true flower (chasmogamous) to confirm the parentage. From the picture, it looks like the pod is not as globose as odorata, but more elongated like sororia?? So maybe that's a good indication of its hybridity??
    Very nice work. I can hardly wait to see pictures of it next Spring. Thanks for sharing the news.