Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenny_in_se_pa

Viola sororia 'Freckles' seeds!!

jenny_in_se_pa
21 years ago

In early summer, I had purchased 3 of these plants (at least that is what they were labeled as and they were on sale) and I planted all 3 in a round 15" diameter shallow plastic bowl planter. They had pretty much finished their blooms by then but they kept a nice lush growth of foliage. The foliage is slowly starting to droop now that it has gotten cooler and low and behold, what do I find? Seeds!

Now granted, I know for you Viola officiandos, this is par for the course, but this is my first time growing violets in a container as a perennial (after many years of pansies and viola tricolor in containers and growing up with wild violets out in the yard of the house I grew up in). I've never actually seen seeds on a violet before and this was the neatest thing to find! I am not really a seed person but this find made it sortof worth keeping a big bowl of foliage around....lol

Comments (9)

• Mike Hardman
    21 years ago

That's what I like to see - somebody without a question; somebody just sharing an observation; somebody sharing their enthisiasm and communicating a simple pleasure. Great stuff, Jennie! Thanks.

• jenny_in_se_pa
    Original Author
    21 years ago

Mike - I guess I never envisioned the seeds forming in this manner. I always imagined some sort of roundish seed pod. Now I can see why these plants spread so quickly... :-)

• clive
    21 years ago

I call the sororias the cuckoos of the violet world, they tend to pop up in everyone elses pot, being so vigorouse they will soon outgrow other species like odorata and eventualy kill them, so take care, I guess these are the only violets that I have the heart to pull out of a pot and throw away.
    May I reiterate what Mike said that it is refreshing to hear such exuberance for the Violet. Clive Groves

• jenny_in_se_pa
    Original Author
    21 years ago