Return to the Weeds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
no one can identify this spreading weed

Posted by tenuviel MD (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 3, 06 at 9:15

There are these reddish purple shoots coming up around my house, and at the edge of my yard. They kind of look like asparagus. They are in various stages of development, some are now about a foot tall and sending up more shoots, appears to be spreading. The stem is fleshy, not as much as a succulent, the leaves are more delicate, not hairy, alternate, rounded, and about 4 inches in diameter. They are a dark green veined with reddish purple, and slightly curled under. Upon digging the root system is extensive, growing laterally, and spreading at all levels of ground, down to 4 feet. The largest roots were almost 2 inches thick. The stalks left in winter are about 5 feet high, and are hollow and reed like ( this is not a reed though) This is my first year living here, so I do not know if it produces flowers yet. The soil is very sandy here. It appears very resilient, and is starting to come up through the cement. any ideas? help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: no one can identify this spreading weed

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Tue, Apr 4, 06 at 0:11

Japanese Knotweed? Description: New shoots asparagus-like and green to purple/red, fiberous roots, hollow stems.

Here is a link that might be useful: Japanese knotweed

o

this is defidently it. Thank you. Any earth friendly way of controlling it?

o

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Wed, Apr 5, 06 at 1:16

Happily, I haven't had to deal with knotweed personally...

but it doesn't sound good - this is one tough and invasive plant. Hopefully someone else (or your county extension agent) will have some suggestions for efficient long term removal, but it looks to me like you will be at this for a while and will need to use more than one method of control. Wish I had better news...

Mechanical