Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daintyjag_gw

Killing root system of english ivy

daintyjag
14 years ago

Hi, :) I recently spent hours upon hours pulling up english ivy from off my house and ground and am almost finished. It had completely covered an area that I want to plant flowers in. The top soil is now just about completely bare of all ivy. I'd like to till the soil before planting, but am afraid I'll be encouraging the ivy to come back full force. Should I till it with a specific weed killer mixed into the soil? Am very open to ideas! I'm a novice gardener with a pretty good green thumb for house plants and want to extend outside...HELP, PLEASE & THANK YOU! :)

Comments (49)

• hortster
    14 years ago

Killing English ivy is a LONG process. this stuff should be illegal. You are on the right track. There is no specific killer for English ivy that will not sterilize the gorund area for a long, long time. To me the best system is to 1) keep pulling, tenaciously, for a full growing season, or 2) every time a new stem emerges, cut it off at the ground and "dap" it with glyphosate. My best experence has been to dig the re-emerging shoot, each time it shows its ugly head. The glyphosate may take the same time frame, but might "feel better." English ivy is not considered (by most) an invasive here in KS but it is to me.
    hortster

• whitecap
    14 years ago

I've got pretty much the same problem with Asian jasmine, only I've decided not to pull it up before I kill it. Several applications of regular strength Roundup hasn't fazed it. A guy at the Extension Service tells me that the leaves have a waxy surface that keeps herbicides from penetrating. (I've read that ivy is similar in this regard.) He thought I might have better luck by applying it to new growth. We shall see.