Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chaudk

What would you do with this?

chaudk
11 years ago

The attached pic shows about 20ft out of about 100ft that is all this way. Heavily weeded, but what looks like a nice flower garden underneath. The flowers still live, but I suspect will quickly become choked from the weeds. We just bought this place. I am wondering what to do with it... Should I:

a) zero the whole thing and start over

b) Try to temporarily transplant as many of the larger flowers like roses and tulips as I can and then zero it

c) just go through and weed it?

I am concerned with the last choice because, in part, I am a novice and just cannot tell what is weed and what is not.. However, if it is the best choice, I will try to learn. Also if the last choice, should I do it now or wait until another season of the year? I am willing to be patient and/or put in some labor to this effort...

Thanks to all you experts with kindly advice : )

Image link:

Comments (7)

• Beeone
    11 years ago

Oh Boy! I don't think it is quite as bad as it looks, however.

I am a novice and just cannot tell what is weed and what is not.>>We all are/were. The only way is to dig in and learn. Ask a neighbor with a nice flower garden, grab examples of things you don't recognize and take them to the local Extension office for an ID or to your local Weed and Pest office.

Also if the last choice, should I do it now or wait until another season of the year?>> Do it now. Waiting will only make it harder/worse.

Give it some water to make sure the ground is moist, then wait a day or two so the ground isn't saturated. Then start pulling. A few hints I would go by: Start with the grasses. Grasses look like one of the dominant weeds in your picture. I don't see any ornamental grasses, but I'm not too fond of them anyway so would just remove all the grasses first.