Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
teallgardener

Weed & Feed headache

TeallGardener
9 years ago

This is my first year really getting into gardening.
Our yard over the past year or two has been really taken over by dandelions.
I went to Walmart and asked the garden associate (the one that was bringing their plants in not a Walmart employee) and they directed me to Expert Gardener Weed & Feed Spray (attaches to hose).
I told them I have kids and two pugs and they said it was totally safe to use and idiot proof.
Well I just applied it and now I am freaking out a little. I feel like I may have over applied in some areas and now I am afraid to let my dogs and kids out in the yard. I have a 2 year old and 1 year old twins and they basically live outside.
It said it was a 15-0-0, not really sure what that means.
I was feeling anxious about our yard being more yellow than green and sticking out on our street and now I feel like I am either going to burn up my yard or make my family sick!
He told me it was the same stuff they use at parks and that the trucks and lawn services that go around use and it is perfectly safe.
Can someone shed some light on when I can let my animals on the grass or my kids and if double going over an area is going to totally kill my yard?
It is much harder than it looks to get an even spray!
And I ended up covered in the crap and felt like I needed a shower out of the movie Silkwood!
I know now to not use Weed and Feed - too good to be true!

Comments (7)

• lucillle
    9 years ago

Just in general, for products you might use in the future, they have the active ingredients on the package which you can then look up on the internet, no need to entrust your family's health to a random store associate.

Below is a site that has info on some products:

Here is a link that might be useful: MSDS

• JasonFromWNY
    9 years ago