Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mxracer264

Pros & Cons to Preen?

mxracer264
17 years ago

I've always been 100% organic but I am getting older and so are my knees and back. Is Preen effective and what are the long term drawbacks?

Comments (15)

• star723
    17 years ago

Hello there~ I would be interested in what people have to say about this too. I have been using Preen for a few years now. It works very well for me, I was also told to put it on later in the fall to control winter weeds. I still try not to use chemicals if I can but my joints are yelling at me all the time anymore. I have always wonder about long term use?? Thanks Debbie

• JAYK
    17 years ago

The active ingredient in Preen is trifluralin. It works by affecting seedling root growth. It doesn't stop germination, but does keep the seedling from establishing.You can find some information at this link. Soil incorporation by watering in the product or by mechanical means is essential if the product is to work. Preen works fairly well on grasses when used as directed, but is not very good for some of the broadleaf weeds. The active ingredient is very toxic to fish, which is why it should not be used near waterways.

Here is a link that might be useful: Extoxnet

• allmanknack
    15 years ago

My father is elderly (91) and no longer able to keep up with the demands of a rather high-maintenance yard. A number of his shrubs and flower beds are overrun with cheat grass. Will Preen Weed & Grass help to control cheat grass? Any advice will be much appreciated.

• Kimmsr
    15 years ago

A much easier and cheaper means of weed control is a good mulch, although that will not stop invasive grasses, but then little or nothing except a good, solid barrier between the planting bed and grass will either.
    Preen does not add anything beneficial to your soil, as mulch does,
    Preen will not aid in retaining soil moisture, as mulch will.
    Preen will not aid in keeping your soil cooler, as muclh will.