Return to the Weeds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Weed ID for a beginner please?

Posted by futique CO (My Page) on
Wed, May 2, 07 at 16:16

Hello everyone,

I am a complete novice, so please forgive me if I seem naive. I've tried researching these unknown plants on my own, but I can't seem to find a match anywhere.

Anyway, the pictures below are of some plants that are popping up all over the place. I actually don't mind how these look, but if they are weeds, I want to get rid of them sooner, rather than later. Whatever they are, they really seem to be happy with the soil/light conditions, because they are everywhere.

They pull out easily, FWIW. Each one is a separate plant as well.

Any ideas?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Weed ID for a beginner please?

Looks like white snakeroot seedlings to me, a variety of eupatorium.

o

Howdy,

This looks like Blackberry to me. A very pervasive, fast growing shrub with stickers. I'm about 99% sure of that.

Try and pull them up with as many of the roots as possible. Then get some round up or some kind of weed killer to kill the remaining roots.

Also, a heavy brush killer sprayed on the leaves will do the trick. Just be careful not to spray any other type of surrounding (desirable) plants.

ia

Here is a link that might be useful: Blackberry (disambiguation)

o

Thanks for the replies. Whatever it is, I've pulled it up everywhere, except for a small isolated section where I plan to let it grow a bit, and see what happens.

It's not altogether unpleasing in appearance.

I have noticed that as it ages, the leaves are getting longer, and more arrow like in appearance. I'l try to take an update pic and post.

Thanks again!

o

Does anyone else have any thoughts on this?

For some reason, I don't think it's Blackberry. The leaves look different from the pictures I've been able to find.