Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jrussell2

florida betony

jrussell2
18 years ago

I HAVE BEEN FIGHTING WITH FLORIDA BETONY (RATTLE SNAKE WEED)FOR SEVERAL YEARS NOW, DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY SUGESTIONS OF EXTERMINATING THIS WEED, ITS A PERINIAL AND HAS TUBERS THAT BREAK OFF AND KEEP SPREADING, I EVEN LAID DOWN BLACK PLASTIC AND MULCHED BUT IT GROWS SEVERAL FEET AND COMES UP AROUND THE ENDS. ANY ADVICE? SOME PEOPLE CALL THIS WEED WILD ARTICHOKE ALSO. THANKS, RUSS

Comments (4)

• rivers1202
    18 years ago

There have been several posts about this evil weed. I have a major problem with it, too. I've read that regular mowing during the growing season, hand-pulling when possible, and regular, direct hits with RoundUp, or some other weed killer, is all that you can do for it. Even then, if your neighbors have it in their yards, it'll just creep right back into yours. I asked someone who has a lawncare business about getting rid of Florida Betony..he said I'd never be completely rid of it. And even getting it under control would take a few years.
    Sorry I couldn't offer more positive advice. We just noticed this stuff in our yard for the first time last Fall...seemed to come outta nowhere. And now it's everywhere.

• stevied
    18 years ago

Its tough. I have lots of it in my yard. I am resorting to hand-digging. I'll have to re-sod small areas of grass where I have dug it up to remove the Florida Betony. Multiple (at least 3) applications of atrazine or 2-4,D, have been partially effective for me in treating it. However, it is only partially effective.

I heard that quite a bit of Florida Betony seed was blown around by the Florida hurricanes last year.

• donnab_gardener
    15 years ago