Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
finkzilla51_gw

Tilling ground full of weeds

finkzilla51
14 years ago

I just bought my house a year ago and there are about 3 different weeds growing like mad. I suspect my neighbors are becoming irritated so I decided to do something about it. I'm very new at gardening and I thought that tilling the ground would get rid of them. I didn't do my research very well. Anyway, I just tilled the ground. The weeds are scattered everywhere. What do I do now? Do I leave them there? Rake them up?? My original plan was to spread clay buster and fertilizer and plant drought resistant plants but I'm not so sure what to do before this. Any help will be grately appreciated.

Comments (12)

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago

Tilling those "weeds" in allowed them to become part of the organic matter your soil probably needs, although tilling also brought up more "weed" seeds that could germinate and grow requiring tilling again, or covering with a good mulch.
    More than likely what your soil really needs is lots of organic matter more than something called claybuster fertilizer.

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    14 years ago

Claybuster - Aged compost with addition of horticultural pumice. More expensive than some bagged composts but a useful product.

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago

The directions for use that I see about a couple of different, it appears, products called claybuster is to add a small amount to your clay soil in that planting hole which most likely will make it much easier for moisture to flow into that planting hole but since the soil outside of that planting hole has not been changed the water will not be able to flow out and will then result in your having a planting hole filled with water with no place to go which will drown your plants. Probably not a good thing to do.
    Clay soils need a lot of organic matter spread over a very large area to prevent that type of occurance.

• vgrandja
    12 years ago