Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimbotron

Weeding for an Extreme Newbie

Jimbotron
12 years ago

Total total newbie. Spent my life in apartments. Just bought a house. Helpless and ignorant.

Ok. The bed in front of my house is full of weeds. They're getting higher and higher. The neighbors are looking at me funny. I've been told to pull out all the weeds (preferably by the root) and hire a gardening center to come dump mulch (which is easier than estimating number of bags and trying to cart dozens of them home in my Toyota).

Questions:

1. Once I pull up the weeds, what do I do with them? Can I leave them lying there, to be mulched over? Or do I need to throw them in the woods?

2. Once I pull up the weeds, how long can I wait before mulching over?

3. whenever I try to pull up weeds, I find that about ten percent break off in my hand, leaving the roots. Do I need to shovel out the "stumps" when this happens?

4. Anything else a complete idiot might fail to be aware of?

Comments (9)

• lisanti07028
    12 years ago

First- you need tools. A hand cultivator, which is like a long, bent fork; a trowel, which is a tiny shovel with a short handle that. You could choose a hand pick, which is, as the name says, a hand tool with a pointed end and a blunt end. Use the cultivator or the pick to pull the entire weed plant out of the ground; use the trowel to get up plants that don't cooperate.
    If at all possible, weed when the ground is moist (not soaking wet) so that the roots come up easier. If the ground is bone dry, weeding is horribly frustrating.
    Most weeding must be done on hands and knees - you get better torque that way.
    Once they're all up, mulch away. If you're mulching around shrubs, trees, or any other plants, the mulch should be just up to but not touching the plant itself, especially woody plants.